Homeschooling and Mythology

So as I sit making lesson plans for the coming year I have decided to add a subject this year. Of course we do the normal subjects that everyone does. But I’ve struggled a lot with  How I want to do history, religion and mythology as a subject because I want my children to be well round and be able to make well informed decisions about what they choose to believe. As a child I researched mythology on my own time, but I loved to read and loved to learn about mythology. So here is what I have decided to do and why:

I am going to make each one it’s own subject.

History

Mythology

Religion

Why not just make them all one you ask? I do agree that they are all linked together, hand in hand. Human’s history is steeped in religion of different kinds which has in turn become mythology for some cultures. But this turn 1 subject into a huge burden that no one, including myself, will want to read. By breaking it down I’ve made it a little simpler for myself to teach and grade.

History – This is fact based and I feel learning this as a child it should not be clouded with mythology and religion which are a little more personal and not quite so fact based. The Holocaust, The Burning Times, Native American History these are things that should not be forgotten but are slowly being taken out of our history books. This should be based on facts not personal preference.If we do not learn from history it will only repeat itself.

Religion – This is faith based and personal choice. Making this it’s own subject means that I can do assignments on different religions. Focusing JUST on current religions around the world. Always questioning and learning about different religions helped me be more tolerant of people who believed different than me and helped me make informed decisions about the way I believe.

Mythology – I truly believe that to understand some of our history and some religions you need to know the stories of what we now call mythology. Zues and the Olympians were once a part of religion but are now mythology. But they are also an important part of understanding our history and where some religions come from. I also believe that learning about mythology helps expand our imagination into worlds unknown and unseen. To me this is no different than reading science fiction books. I used to get lost for hours in Egypt, Valhalla and Mt. Olympus, I want my children to experience that also.

This is just my opinion and may not be for everyone. But it works for us so I thought I would share!

Categories: Homeschool | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

